Ajyal Film Festival 2020

All Films

No Entry for Men (Vorood Aghayan Mamnoo)

Special Screening

للترجمة العربية اضغط على

Rambod Javan / Feature Narrative / Iran / 2011 / 105 min / Colour / 35 mm
In Persian / Arabic, English subtitles
Interests: Comedy, Family Friendly, Social Issues, Women Interest
MENA Premiere
Rated: General Audiences. Suitable for ages 4 and up.


  • Sun, Nov 18, 04:30 PM, Katara Drama Theatre (K16-DT)
    Regular screening Tickets sales closed
    Ladies Only
  • Mon, Nov 19, 06:00 PM, Katara Drama Theatre (K16-DT)
    Premium screening Tickets sales closed
    Extended Q&A with filmmaker Rambod Javan
  • Sat, Nov 24, 06:45 PM, Katara Drama Theatre (K16-DT)
    Regular screening Tickets sales closed


The battle of the sexes has seen no greater playing field than one of the strictest all-girls’ schools in Tehran, where formidable headmistress Mrs Darabi rules with an iron fist. Her number one, non-negotiable regulation: no man must ever cross the threshold of her institution of academic excellence. However, when a teacher must take leave just as the school’s star science students are preparing for the international Chemistry Olympiad, Mrs Darabi’s only option is to hire a dedicated, if bumbling, male teacher. Once her golden rule is broken, Mrs Darabi’s dislike of men reaches a fever pitch, with results that will have audiences rolling in the aisles – and cheering for good old-fashioned romance. ‘No Entry for Men’ was wildly successful at the box-office in its native Iran and for good reason – this charming, gentle romantic comedy will appeal to young and old alike.

About the Directors

Born in Tehran in 1971, Rambod Javan is an actor and stage director who is a familiar figure on television in Iran. He has appeared in numerous popular Iranian movies and has directed three series for Iranian television. ‘Spaghetti in 8 Mins’ was his directorial debut for the cinema.


Rambod Javan
Peyman Ghasemkhani
Ali Sartipi, Manijeh Hekmat
Mostafa Kherghehpoosh
Heydar Sajedi
Davood Amiri
Sales Company
Iranian Independents
Reza Attaran, Vishka Asayesh, Mani Haghighi, Pegah Ahangarani, Falamak Joneidi, Bahareh Rahnam

blog comments powered by Disqus